Igesund: Bafana will be competitive

South Africa coach Gordon Igesund is confident his team will be competitive when they face Australia next week in the Socceroos farewell friendly leading into the World Cup in Brazil.

The Bafana Bafana coach was forced into a late overhaul of his squad after 11 of the 18 selected players withdrew.

The team was due to fly out for Australia on Wednesday but had to delay their flight a day as football officials scrambled to pull together the necessary visas and travel documents for late call-ups.

Igesund, 57, said while the withdrawals had some impact on his plans he was still confident that his 18-man squad would do the country proud.

"I have put together a big squad of around 34 which is young and excited about playing for the country, so those who I have called as replacements are part of that broader squad," Igesund said. "They are very capable players.

"All these players are part of the group that should participate in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches for 2015 in Morocco.

"This is an opportunity for those selected to raise their hands and be counted. They are young and should compete."

Igesund said there was little he could do about the withdrawals but added he had confidence in those selected.

"It has been a long season for most of these players and there is little I can do about injuries," he added.

"Injuries are part of the game of football and there is no one to be blamed for this."

Bafana play the Socceroos on Monday in Sydney before taking on New Zealand four days later in Auckland.



Ronwen Hayden WILLIAMS (Supersport United FC, SA), Senzo Robert MEYIWA, (Orlando Pirates FC, SA)


Benett Thabo NTHETHE (Mamelodi Sundowns FC, SA), Buhlebuyeza Wilson MKHWANAZI (University of Pretoria FC, SA), Thato MOKEKE (Supersport United FC, SA), Anele Calvin NGCONGCA (Racing Genk FC, Belgium), Thabo MATLABA (Orlando Pirates FC, SA), Erick MATHOHO (Kaizer Chiefs FC, SA).


Teko MODISE (Mamelodi Sundowns FC, SA), Oupa Matthew MANYISA (Orlando Pirates FC, SA), Bongani ZUNGU (Mamelodi Sundowns FC, SA), Themba ZWANE (Mpumalanga Black Aces FC, SA), Thulani Caleb SERERO, (Ajax Amsterdam FC, Holland), Thuso PHALA (Supersport United FC, SA), Hlompho Alpheus KEKANA, (Mamelodi Sundowns FC, SA), Ayanda PATOSI (FC Lokeren, Belgium).


Kermit ERASMUS (Orlando Pirates FC, SA), Tokelo Anthony RANTIE (AFC Bournemouth FC, England).